All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum

Like riding lawn tractors through mud, woods, rocks, and snow? Then this is the place for you! Share your ideas, Post your projects and more!

PortalHomeSite RulesEventsFAQSearchRegisterLog inBuild-Off

Any one do body work or repainting?

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
Trcustoms
Trcustoms

Any one do body work or repainting? Empty
PostSubject: Any one do body work or repainting?   Any one do body work or repainting? Icon_minitimeJanuary 6th 2011, 12:36 pm

Wondering if any of you guys are into auto body work or painting?

I'm pretty new to both but from a few feet away my work looks pretty darn good.
just trying to learn more thats why i asked. Very Happy
Back to top Go down
dangeroustoys56
Veteran Member
dangeroustoys56
Veteran Member

1000+ Posts
1000+ Posts!

PostSubject: Re: Any one do body work or repainting?   Any one do body work or repainting? Icon_minitimeJanuary 6th 2011, 8:04 pm

Ive done some , both on my 75 LTD and my 89 f150 - panels came out straight, color match was horrible- LOL ! Its a pain to do as a job- serious amount of dust ( wear a mask) , always dirty.

I stripped a couple of my tractors down to near bare metal n repainted em- oddly the .99 cent paint job looks and has lasted longer then the $7 can of paint job.

I plan on using my HVLP air gun set sometime soon- my 86GT should be the first one as a test- then the 85 LT11 will get a fresh coat of silver as well.

Bondo shouldnt be more then 1/8" thick - its ment to fill shallow dents, itll crack and split if any thicker- spot putty will shrink as well .
Back to top Go down
Trcustoms
Trcustoms

PostSubject: Re: Any one do body work or repainting?   Any one do body work or repainting? Icon_minitimeJanuary 6th 2011, 8:31 pm

Cool.., i have a husky spray gun that came with my air compressior when i bought it.