All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum

Like riding lawn tractors through mud, woods, rocks, and snow? Then this is the place for you! Share your ideas, Post your projects and more!

PortalHomeSite RulesEventsFAQSearchRegisterLog inBuild-Off

Craftsman 4k (I Have Yet To Name Her)

Go down 
+8
redlinemotorsportts
jamcco
Ghyde97
LAWN MOWER MUDDER
kawasaki220
mr.modified
Thunderdivine
Carshowkid
12 posters
Go to page : 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
AuthorMessage
TooIngenious
TooIngenious

Craftsman 4k (I Have Yet To Name Her) Empty
PostSubject: Craftsman 4k (I Have Yet To Name Her)   Craftsman 4k (I Have Yet To Name Her) Icon_minitimeOctober 22nd 2014, 7:44 pm

I'm starting my tractor project officially now. I've been playing around with it in stock form for basically a few months now. All it's had is a pulley swap. Here are my plans for my tractor, slightly categorized:

I) Drivetrain
   A) Engine
       -Something that runs and charges a battery (Not real picky right now...)
       -Some sort of stack with toppers
       -Snorkel
       -Foot Throttle (Hand throttle for cruise)
       -Ditch keyed ignition, go push button w/ pull start back up
   B) Transaxle
       -Oil Filled
       -Bearings anywhere they fit
       -A certain La Roux song comes to mind...
       -Ditch the trans brake and mount a disc brake/rotor on axle (Locked axle, duh.)
   C) Everything In Between
       -Like a 1:1 pulley ratio (5" Pulleys)
       -Off-road tires mounted on 10" Golf Cart rims (Need to get hubs for axle)
       -Not sure what type of belt (I've heard good stuff about kevlar)
       -Double-pulley clutch #NoBeltSlip

II) Chassis
   A) Frame Supports
       -Who doesn't like a stiffy?
   B) Front/Rear Bumpers
       -Stinger front bumper w/ tow hooks
       -Straight bar rear bumper w/ hitches (Probably just a ball and whatever the regular tractor style is called...)