All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum

Like riding lawn tractors through mud, woods, rocks, and snow? Then this is the place for you! Share your ideas, Post your projects and more!

PortalHomeSite RulesEventsFAQSearchRegisterLog inBuild-Off

briggs mod questions

Go down 
+6
TroyBilt Pony
LAWN MOWER MUDDER
Stretch44875
redlinemotorsportts
TheRainbowBoxer
mudcrazy
10 posters
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
mudcrazy

briggs mod questions Empty
PostSubject: briggs mod questions   briggs mod questions Icon_minitimeAugust 9th 2013, 4:40 pm

ok guys im new to modding lawn tractors. my background is in trucks so I have three questions to begin.
1)if i take the governor off will i need forged or billit internals.
2)if i do need them where is the best/cheapest place to get them
3) if i have a 12.5 briggs model 28 can i put a 13 hp briggs model 28 crank in to ''stroke it out''
thanks in advanced for replys Smile
Back to top Go down
TheRainbowBoxer
TheRainbowBoxer

1000+ Posts
1000+ Posts!

PostSubject: Re: briggs mod questions   briggs mod questions Icon_minitimeAugust 9th 2013, 4:57 pm

Moved your topic to the appropriate section of the forum. My answers to the questions:

1. I would say no in general. The engine is typically not going to rev beyond the speed that is likely to cause destruction of stock internals. My friends and I run 5 tractors without governors, and have had almost no engine problems.

2. See #1