All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum

Like riding lawn tractors through mud, woods, rocks, and snow? Then this is the place for you! Share your ideas, Post your projects and more!

PortalHomeSite RulesEventsFAQSearchRegisterLog inBuild-Off

Welding help Needed..

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
CraftsMAN
CraftsMAN

Welding help Needed.. Empty
PostSubject: Welding help Needed..   Welding help Needed.. Icon_minitimeDecember 31st 2010, 8:21 pm

I just was given a Millermatic 135 welder.. It is a mig.. My girlfriends dad.. affraid Very Happy I almost Sh*t.. I was so happy.. The only problem is that I have never used a MIG welder before. I used an old fassioned Stick welder like 7 years ago. I was going to use Flux wire with it but can I use regular wire without gas?. I was wondering if you guys have any tips or things that I should pick up.. I will be getting a welding helmet and gloves along with a fire extinguisher.. Thanks guys and happy New Year
Back to top Go down
https://www.facebook.com/CRUSHEMCustoms/
dangeroustoys56
Veteran Member
dangeroustoys56
Veteran Member

1000+ Posts
1000+ Posts!

PostSubject: Re: Welding help Needed..   Welding help Needed.. Icon_minitimeDecember 31st 2010, 9:12 pm

Have to use flux wire w/o the gas - wont weld w/o it- my hobart 440 has the gas kit for it, i cant see spending near $400 for the tank ( buying it, filling it) - so i bot some harbor frieght flux core wire ( next time ill get a roll of hobart wire) - welds pretty good w/o the gas.
Back to top Go down
Jordan
Jordan

PostSubject: Re: Welding help Needed..   Welding help Needed.. Icon_minitimeDecember 31st 2010, 9:21 pm