All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

All-Terrain Lawn Tractor Forum

Like riding lawn tractors through mud, woods, rocks, and snow? Then this is the place for you! Share your ideas, Post your projects and more!

PortalHomeSite RulesEventsFAQSearchRegisterLog inBuild-Off

Building a mud tractor. Need some advice....

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
Zebb

Building a mud tractor. Need some advice.... Empty
PostSubject: Building a mud tractor. Need some advice....   Building a mud tractor. Need some advice.... Icon_minitimeOctober 19th 2016, 5:17 pm

Hello,

I’m new to the lawn mower group, as a kid growing up I used to love driving around on my grandpas old Murray lawn mower. From research it was very similar to a 1984 11/36.

I recently started watching a few mud mower vids and man does it look like fun! The mud mower build I watched was from a guy named Fearlessfront who had a locked 1970’s Sears Suburban with a 10hp? Diesel engine and 25 or 26 inch tall Vampire ATV mud tires.

So I’ve come for some advice in building my own!
First some insight into what the master plan is!

I’m THINKING of starting out with a Garden Tractor since as far as I can tell they are build A LOT stronger. As for transmission I’m thinking of starting with a CVT based tranny but would go with a gear driven over hydrostatic. I will have to lock the rear end for traction and be running large aggressive rear tires. I’m thinking of running some 27 inch tall, 12 inch wide Outlaws a friend has, but would like the freedom to go as large as 30. As for an engine I’m considering a 400cc Polaris 2-stroke ATV engine used for woods racing I have sitting in the garage. In current form it has around 50-60hp up from the stock 35. I’m thinking it would work great with the cvt style transmission As I can easily clutch it for great low end power while keeping the max speed under 15-20 mph.